The expense of disability-Part 2

In my last post, I started talking about how expensive it is to be disabled. Wouldn’t mind, but I don’t think anyone could call it a ‘lifestyle choice’, could they? Not like even the highest spec wheelchair would be the envy of all the neighbours, is it?! But alas, lifestyle choice or not, it is a seriously bloody expensive way to ‘be’. Last time I talked about my chair and my amazing wheels. Best. Wheels. Ever. Until one of them decides it’s had enough and just stops working. This can (and has!) happen at any time, anywhere. The first 6 months I had them, I literally couldn’t leave the house on my own because every now and again, they would just decide to pack up, leaving me completely stranded. If a bit of tweaking by said companion didn’t work, I would have to be wheeled back to my van to reach the safe haven which is home, as quickly as possible. Sooooo…what’s all that got to do with expense? Well, the only person who can fix these wheels is an ‘engineer wheel fixer’ (very important job title I just made up) in Aylesbury, Oxfordshire. So the process goes like this: I get on phone to engineer who is obviously never there, as is too busy fixing someone elses’s wheel, so a message is left. He then tries to get hold of me and although I am at home, stranded, I still somehow manage to miss his call. When we eventually speak, he talks me through all the minor things it could be (which we have already tried, in fact I think we should write an updated troubleshooting manual!) and we conclude with him having to DHL me another wheel. Ok when the wheels are under warranty, not cheap if warranty has run out. I think last time I had to ‘borrow a wheel’, the cost was in the hundreds to have mine fixed and DHL’d back to me. 

Then because literally nothing is straightforward, everything costs more, as it is ‘bespoke’. Even getting through the front door costs more. First thing needed is a ramp, we just had a quote for a new one….£2,000. Must shop around! Then you need an electric door opening thing fitted (high hundreds) plus some kind of electric fob so I just have to push a button to open the door, rather than try to fight with my hands to use a key, as my fingers are also paralysed. Another £100. So you’re looking at the best part of £3k just to get in and out the front door. Don’t want to bore you with an individually itemed bill, but think you get my drift!

Leave a comment