Weather

Here’s a thing. The UK weather in general hacks me off. I know many people feel the same way & many others, mainly men, I find, are completely indifferent to it & (I have only seen this most bizarre behaviour in Northern men) will wear long  shorts (above knee) in the deepest, darkest depths of winter. I just don’t get it on any level. 

I am a person who suffers from SAD. I have a light I bought in desparation on ebay several years ago, to try & help me cope a bit better in the long, cold, depressing grey winter months. I must remember to dig it out of what is lovingly known as ‘the cupboard of doom’ tomorrow, as for some reason, I have totally forgotten about it this winter!!! 

Being a wheelchair user presents many challenges, living in a cold, grey climate also does. Combine those two things and you are left with someone who doesn’t relegate their winter coat to the back of the cupboard until May & hauls it back out again by early October. My GP actually told me once that he reckons almost the whole population of the UK is vit D deficient, but that they only have the financial capacity to prescribe this most needed of vitamins to those with the highest need. So, on this note, if you don’t already do so, get online and order your vit D, quick! Cytoplan & Higher Nature are 2 naturopathic nutrition websites I would definitely recommend. πŸ™‚ 

I am definitely a lizard under an infra red light kind of a gal. I really despise the cold & I soooo envy those who are indifferent to it. Like my husband and almost every man I know. Pretty much all year round, I use a hairdryer at night to warm me up. It drives my significant other insane but it’s the only thing that works to warm me up, though I have to be careful I don’t burn myself.

Obviously, being in a chair means not being able to move around ‘normally’, so we get cold a lot quicker than the ‘average’ person. If you want to experiment with this, for those of you living in the UK, take a chair into the middle of your garden in January, only allowing yourself to move your arms, no leg movements, no wiggling your toes….no blankets, no patio heaters, no warmth inducing equipment. Just sit pretty still & see how long you last. Let me know if you actually try this and what it was like for you. 

I just thank God, I don’t live in Scandinavia, or parts of Russia or China. Great infrastructure in the former, maybe….but I think, as a chair user, I’d rather settle for somewhere like Thailand, where the infrastructure is pretty non existent but the people are super accommodating, the vitamin D is free and no need for a hairdryer anywhere in sight! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment